Bach, Brahms, Barber, and Forrest

14 May 2016 @ 8:00 PM Hugh Hodgson Concert Hall

We are presenting a varied and difficult concert featuring old and new musical gems, beginning with Alleluia from Bach Motet 1 (Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied). Brahms Motet (op. 29) from Psalm 51 is comprised of three, mostly five-part, separate pieces. Next on the concert are Samuel Barber settings of three haunting James Stephens poems, Mary Hynes, Anthony O’Daly,and The Coolin. We are concluding the concert with Requiem for the Living by Dan Forrest, a 2013 composition destined to become a favorite with audiences everywhere. We are performing it with small chamber orchestra (eight players).

Advance tickets are available exclusively from chorale members until 2 weeks before the concert, at which point they will become available through the UGA Performing Arts Center box office.


Composition Composer
from Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied
Johann Sebastian Bach
Motet (Psalm 51) Johannes Brahms
Three Reincarnations Samuel Barber
Requiem for the Living Dan Forrest